Cantata Singers is committed to growing the choral canon by commissioning and performing new music by living composers. The ensemble has commissioned 15 works by 12 award-winning composers. These composers have earned the Pulitzer Prize, MacArthur Foundation Fellowships, and Guggenheim Foundation Fellowships, among other accolades.

Commissioned Composers

Commissioned Works
Peter Child, Lamentations, 2018
Elena Ruehr, Eve, 2014
John Harbison, The Supper at Emmaus, (co-commissioned with Emmanuel Music), 2014
Yehudi Wyner, Give Thanks for All Things, 2010
Andy Vores, Natural Selection, 2009
Lior Navok, Slavery Documents 3: And The Trains Kept Coming..., 2008
Stephen Hartke, Precepts, (co-commissioned with Winsor Music), 2007
John Harbison, But Mary Stood: Sacred Symphonies for Chorus and Instruments, 2006
James Primosch, Matins, (co-commissioned with Winsor Music), 2003
T.J. Anderson, Slavery Documents 2, 2002
Andy Vores, World Wheel, 2000
Andrew Imbrie, Adam, 1994
Donald Sur, Slavery Documents, 1990
Peter Child, Estrella, 1988
John Harbison, The Flight Into Egypt, (winner of 1987 Pulitzer Prize in Music), 1986