Bach and Harbison

This is a past concert.

Sat, Nov 3, 2018 / 8pm
NEC's Jordan Hall

30 Gainsborough St, Boston

tickets map

Parking and Public Transportation Directions (PDF)
Program Notes by David Hoose and John Harbison (PDF)

Cantata Singers' 55th season opens with music by J.S. Bach and John Harbison. Bach's exquisite Cantata BWV 140—Sleepers, awake—prepares the way for the first complete performance of John Harbison's Sacred Trilogy, which Cantata Singers presents in honor of the composer's 80th birthday. The three cantatas that form his TrilogyThe Flight Into Egypt (1986), But Mary Stood (2006), and The Supper at Emmaus (co-commission with Emmanuel Music, 2014)—are all works commissioned by, and composed for, Cantata Singers, but, until now, they have never been heard together in one concert.

Composer John Harbison and composer and writer Robert Kirzinger will give the pre-concert talk, free to all ticketholders, at 7pm in Williams Hall.
Copies of John Harbison's newest book What Do We Make of Bach: Portraits, Essays, Notes (September 2018) will be on sale for $20 at intermission.
Following the performance, all are invited to attend a free post-concert reception.

J.S. Bach: “Wachet auf,” BWV 140
John Harbison: Sacred Trilogy

The Flight Into Egypt
But Mary Stood
The Supper at Emmaus
first complete performance